Lost in the Supermarket Stir Fry

TGIF! At least it is still Friday in my part of the world. What a week! Hectic one at work and I spent the last two evenings getting ready for a Dutch oven competition that my Dutch oven group is hosting tomorrow. (Yes, I’ve had Dutch ovens on the brain all week). Last night, I hit two grocery stores and spent two hours buying ingredients.

And while I was wandering around, lost in the supermarket (anybody know The Clash song – my favorite!), looking for ingredients, my stomach was grumbling and wondering what’s for dinner.

Stir fry is such a great go-to dish when you’re crunched for time (like me), if you have leftover veggies in your fridge that are near the end of their shelf life, or you want a healthy, colorful dish to feed your family. The beauty of stir fry is that you can tailor it completely to your tastes. I often use chicken or beef, but pork, tofu or strictly vegetarian work too. My veggies of choice are carrots, scallions, water chestnuts (are these a veggie?), bell peppers (usually red because I like the color), snow peas, broccoli, mushrooms, and celery. I also like to add nuts, like cashews, peanuts or sliced almonds. And I always serve it with rice, but noodles would enhance the heartiness of this dish. Whatever your taste buds desire!

So, here’s last night’s Lost in the Supermarket Stir Fry. (My apologies. I did not get a group photo of the ingredients as my counters were covered with items for the cook-off.)

Ingredients
1 lb. top round beef, cut into bite-size pieces
Oil (canola, vegetable, olive – whatever you have handy)
Sesame Oil
1 clove Garlic, minced
1 Red Pepper, chopped
2 Celery stalks, sliced
2 Carrots, julienned (chopped is fine)
1 can Water Chestnuts, sliced
4-6 oz. Snow Peas
1 cup Cashew halves and pieces
Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce
White Wine

In a large cast iron skillet, pour enough oil to cover the bottom and heat over medium-high heat.

Beef browning in cast iron skillet

Brown the beef. Add 1/4 tsp. of sesame oil and minced garlic.

Beef browning in cast iron skillet

Once the beef is nearly browned – still a little pink –

Lost in the Supermarket Stir Fry

add your vegetables, except the snow peas. The snow peas will cook quickly so should be added toward the end.

Combine and add the stir fry sauce – about 1/2 cup.

Add about a 1/4 cup of wine and stir.

Be sure to pour a glass for yourself. Or two.

Once the vegetables begin to get tender, add the snow peas.

Finally, add the cashews. Reserve about 1/4 cup for garnish. I LOVE nuts in my stir fry so I’m a little heavy-handed when adding them. Use your own discretion.

Combine. Give the cashews a chance to heat through and get slightly soft, absorbing the stir fry sauce.

Lost in the Supermarket Stir Fry

Serve over rice. Garnish with the remainder of the cashews. Enjoy!

One comment on “Lost in the Supermarket Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

