The Great Pumpkin Bouquet

Looking for something different to do with your pumpkin this season? Why not turn it into a bouquet?

I found this idea on the cover of All You magazine, along with instructions, so I thought I’d give it a try. It is remarkably easy to do and looks beautiful…a great centerpiece for a Halloween party, Thanksgiving dinner or simply as fall decor around the home. And it travels well, in case you are heading over the hills and through the woods to grandmother’s house for Thanksgiving. This particular arrangement joined me on a two-hour road trip over the Sierra Nevadas, virtually unscathed (although I suggest placing it in a box or tub so it won’t slide around.)

Items you’ll need
1 Pumpkin
1 Flower Vase (cylindrical or a coffee can works too), 2″ to 3″ smaller in diameter than pumpkin
Carving Knife and Spoon (I used a steak knife and rice spoon)
Flowers of your choice (I used two bunches purchased at the grocery store, which included sunflowers, mums, and foliage)
Scissors
Ribbon, 2′ long

Place your vase atop your pumpkin to trace the circle to cut.

Carve a hole in the top 1/2″ larger in diameter than the vase.

Remove the seeds and pulp from the pumpkin. I used a rice spoon from my rice cooker, because it has a nice wide surface, and this fork-a-spoon from an old camping kit. (It’s amazing what I keep in my kitchen drawers.)

Once your pumpkin is seedless and pulp free, insert the vase and add water to it.

Divide flowers and foliage into 5 bunches. Trim one bunch so they’re twice the height of the pumpkin. Trim the next bunch so it is 1″ shorter. Continue this same pattern with the remaining bunches.

Make a tight arrangement of flowers by placing the tallest in the center, then the next tallest around them, and continue through the various heights of flowers and foliage.

Wrap ribbon around the pumpkin and tie with a bow. Secure with tape, if necessary. I added some sunflower stickers that I found in the scrapbook section of a craft store. Very festive!

Leave a Reply

