Tomato and Cheese Skillet Focaccia

Fall puts me in “nesting” mode, bustling around like a little squirrel preparing my humble abode for winter. I spent the weekend being very domestic – cleaning the house, sprucing up the flower beds and trimming overgrown shrubs. Even though I’m fighting a head cold, it just felt good to be outside in the October sun, enjoying what is probably the last few weeks of warm weather before Old Man Winter settles in.

I also find myself craving to bake…a lot. I love to bake, especially in my skillet, and am always amazed at its versatility. I can bake anything in it – from bread to cake to casseroles – and they always turn out beautifully. (Stay tuned for a future post on my absolute favorite fall cake, also baked in my skillet). So, as I was in a cleansing mode, discovering items in my fridge and pantry that need to be used so I can make room for other things, I decided to bake a tomato and cheese focaccia.

If you don’t have a skillet, you can bake this in a 10-inch cake pan, deep dish pizza pan or springform pan.

Ingredients
1 package Active Dry Yeast
3/4 cup warm Water (105 degrees to 115 degrees F)
2 cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 tsp. Salt
1/4 cup Olive Oil, divided
1 tsp. Italian Seasoning
6-8 oil-packed, Sun-dried Tomatoes, well-drained and finely chopped
1/2 cup (2 oz.) shredded Provolone Cheese
1/4 cup (1 oz.) grated Parmesan Cheese

Dissolve the yeast in warm water and let it stand for 5 minutes.

Combine flour and salt in a bowl.

Add yeast mixture to dry ingredients

and three Tbsps. of olive oil.

Combine until a ball of dough forms.

On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough for about 6 to 10 minutes, until it is smooth and elastic.

Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl. Turn once to lightly oil the dough.

Cover the bowl with a clean dish towel and let it sit for 30 minutes in a warm area, like a sunlit countertop or near a warm oven.

Once the dough has risen to twice its size

get out all of your aggressions and punch it down. See, baking can be very therapeutic.

Generously oil all surfaces of a skillet or baking dish.

Press the dough into the skillet and brush with remaining Tbsp. of oil.

Sprinkle the Italian seasoning over the top.

Add the finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes, leaving an inch from the edge.

Add the cheeses.

Cover the skillet with a dish towel and let sit for 15 minutes in a warm place. Apparently, focaccia dough likes to hibernate.

Bake in a 425-degree oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until golden brown. Place the skillet on a wire rack to cool.

Once completely cooled, remove from the skillet and serve. Now I can settle down in comfort for the winter.

2 comments on “Tomato and Cheese Skillet Focaccia

Leave a Reply

