Mountain Mandarin Cashew Chicken

IMG_7237Last weekend while at my dog’s agility trial, I stayed with my in-laws who live near Sacramento, Calif. The beauty of living so close to northern California’s agricultural bounty is that occasionally I get to enjoy some of it. In particular, my in-laws gave me a 10-pound bag of organic, tree-ripened mountain mandarins grown in Placer County. Once I dove into the bag, I couldn’t get enough of these juicy, slightly tart orange beauties. I think I ate three in one sitting.

In this region, mountain mandarins are grown in the fertile soils of the Sierra Nevada foothills, and each November a festival in Auburn, Calif., is produced in their honor. I think I need to make it over the mountain for next year’s event. I am, quite frankly, rather smitten with these plump orange darlings.

Now, there is no way that I could (or should) eat an entire bag of mandarin oranges by myself so I shared some at work and decided to make  a tasty and simple mandarin orange and cashew chicken stir fry in my skillet. I have made this recipe in the past using canned mandarin oranges, so you may substitute if you aren’t so fortunate to have the mountain variety growing nearby.

IMG_7234Ingredients
3 – 4 Mountain Mandarin Oranges, peeled and the slices separated (substitute with an 11-oz. can of mandarin orange segments)
1/3 cup Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce
2 Tbsps. White Wine
1 tsp. Sesame Oil
3 Tbsps. Vegetable Oil, divided
2 whole boneless, skinless Chicken Breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
1/2 cup roasted Cashews
1 clove Garlic, minced
1/2 large Red Onion, sliced
1/2 lb. Snow Peas
White Rice

Heat 2 Tbsps. of oil in a cast iron skillet.

Heat 2 Tbsps. of oil in a cast iron skillet.

Add chickens, cashews and garlic. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

Add chicken, cashews and garlic. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

Remove to a plate.

Remove to a plate.

Heat remaining oil in the skillet. Add the onions and snow peas. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

Heat remaining oil in the skillet. Add the onions and snow peas. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

Add the chicken and cashews to the onions and snow peas.

Add the chicken and cashews to the onions and snow peas.

Combine the Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce, wine and sesame oil. Add it to the skillet.

Combine the Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce, wine and sesame oil. Add it to the skillet.

Combine all ingredients thoroughly.

Combine all ingredients thoroughly. Remove from heat.

Add the mandarin orange sections.

Add the mandarin orange sections.

Combine into stir fry.

Combine into stir fry.

Serve over white rice. That simple and that delicious. Enjoy!

Serve over white rice. That simple and that delicious. Enjoy!

2 comments on “Mountain Mandarin Cashew Chicken

Leave a Reply

