Indian Spice tea

Indian Spice and all that’s nice…

Now that we all can relax since the world didn’t end yesterday, why not do so with a spot of tea?

Cast Iron Tea KettleAnyone who knows me well knows how much I love tea. But not just any ‘ol tea. I generally don’t drink green tea or any of the fruity or flowery kinds. I like the dark, strong bodied black teas – Irish Breakfast is my favorite blend – and I drink my tea the English way, with cream or milk and sugar. It was how I was raised. In fact, if there isn’t any cream or milk in the house, I won’t drink any hot tea. I simply can’t have one without the other. (My husband has the same relationship with chips and sandwiches).

Blame it on my upbringing. My mother served hot tea when my siblings and I were sick or to warm us up after playing outside on cold, blustery winter days. Today, I rarely start my day without it, whether hot in the winter or iced in the summer.

Hot Cinnamon Spice Tea

Harney & Sons’ Hot Cinnamon Spice Tea

Last year, one of my husband’s employees, Taylor, introduced him to Harney & Sons teas. He was trying to find a Christmas present for me that he knew I’d really enjoy. Boy, does he know me well! He bought some dynamic tea varieties – including an exotic Indian Spice tea which is divine, along with a Hot Cinnamon Spice blend that he loves and really clears the sinuses if you’ve got a bad cold. But best of all, he gave me a sweet Japanese cast iron tea kettle (pictured above) which is much beloved and used religiously. (I bet you were trying to figure out the cast iron connection.)

Too Soul Tea Co.Today, Taylor no longer works for my husband as she has ventured into the tea business herself and just opened her own tea shop here in Reno – Too Soul Tea Co. For those of you in the Reno/Sparks area, it is located at 542 1/2 Plumas Street – the former location of the Great Basin Food Coop. I visited last week to restock my Irish Breakfast tea supply and check out her new store, which is cozy and inviting, and offers free WiFi and ample seating. The place was busy with people working on laptops, while sampling teas and enjoying friendly chatter. Her shop offers 100 fine teas and tea blends, as well as pastries and sandwiches and the best peppermint hot chocolate I’ve ever tasted.

Taylor plans to introduce online sales in 2013 so please check out her website in the months ahead.

So glad the world didn’t end yesterday. There’s just too much good food and tea to enjoy.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

2 comments on “Indian Spice and all that’s nice…

Leave a Reply

