Greens, Eggs and Ham…Quesadilla

Now that the holidays are truly over – my last holiday celebration was spent yesterday with my husband’s family as we celebrated a late and lovely Christmas together – it is time to eat better. Yes, I know, don’t we all say that at the beginning of each year? But I do really try to eat well throughout the year. I avoid fast food as much as possible. I’d prefer to dine in, than out. When I cook, I know what ingredients go into my meals. I can trim back on the fat, salt and sugar, but try not to trim back on flavor. I have my vices. I love chocolate. Rarely does a day pass without eating some small morsel of it. I probably drink too much tea (I am waiting for some to brew right now). And once every blue moon I get an inexplicable craving for powdered donuts. Mmmm…powdered donuts. Did I just sound like Homer Simpson?

So this morning I could have prepared a big Sunday breakfast with a three-egg omelette packed with ham and cheese, a side of greasy cottage-fried potatoes, and toast smothered in butter and jam. Instead, I found this light and super easy breakfast quesadilla in an edition of Women’s Health, and thought it worth a try. I modified the magazine’s recipe slightly to use spinach instead of arugula, of which I’m not a fan. You can use any greens you like. Total calories 330. Hubby loved it.

Greens, Eggs and Ham QuesadillaIngredients
2 Egg Whites, scrambled
2 slices of Deli Ham, chopped
1/4 cup fresh Spinach, chopped
2 Tbsps. Feta Cheese
2 Whole Wheat Tortillas
Your favorite Salsa or Pico de Gallo

In a small cast iron skillet, scramble two egg whites.

In a small cast iron skillet, scramble two egg whites.

Place the scrambled eggs atop a whole wheat tortilla.

Place the scrambled eggs atop a whole wheat tortilla.

Add sliced deli ham...

Add sliced deli ham…

chopped spinach...

chopped spinach…

and feta cheese.

and feta cheese.

Top with another whole wheat tortilla and cook in hot skillet, 2 minutes each side.

Top with another whole wheat tortilla and cook in hot skillet, 2 minutes each side.

Remove from the skillet when golden brown.

Remove from the skillet when golden brown.

Slice in half or quarters. Serve with your favorite salsa or pico de gallo.

Slice in half or quarters. Serve with your favorite salsa or pico de gallo. Here’s to your health!

Leave a Reply

