M.I.A.

Well, in case of you have been wondering why things have been quiet on The Skillet front over the past month or so, here’s why I’ve been Missing in Action.

One of my dogs had elbow dysplasia surgery in early April and this is her feeling good on her meds.

One of my dogs had elbow dysplasia surgery in early April and this is her feeling good on her meds.

My brother-in-law and his family came for a visit, and I thanked them by backing my new car into their headlight. Yep, brilliant!

My brother-in-law and his family came for a visit, and I welcomed them by backing my new car into their headlight. Yep, brilliant!

I now get up at 5:30 in the morning to take my dog on her therapy walks and get to see beautiful sunrises like this one.

I now get up at 5:30 in the morning to take my dog on her therapy walks and get to see beautiful sunrises like this one.

My Dutch oven group, the Northern Sierra Dutch Oven Group, fed the masses at the Genoa Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival.

My Dutch oven group, the Northern Sierra Dutch Oven Group, fed the masses at the Genoa Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival.

We served Dutch Oven Lasagna.

We served Dutch Oven Lasagna.

Skillet Cookies

Skillet Cookies

Drunken Buffalo Stew

Drunken Buffalo Stew

Five Alarm Texas Chili

Five Alarm Texas Chili

Sourdough Rolls by Terry Bell, The Dutch Diva. These are cheese and jalapeno.

Sourdough Rolls by Terry Bell, The Dutch Diva. These are cheese and jalapeno.

We fed hungry mountain men.

We fed hungry mountain men.

Cowboy poets like Tony Argento, pictured here.

Cowboy poets like Tony Argento, pictured here.

And even Sarah Winnemucca visited our camp.

And even Sarah Winnemucca visited our camp.

Last, but certainly not least, my husband decided we needed to foster a mama cat and her four kittens.

Last, but certainly not least, my husband decided we needed to foster a mama cat and her four kittens.

We've named them all, so I think they'll be staying. This one is Mikey.

We’ve named them all, so I think they’ll be staying. This one is Mikey.

Welcome to my zoo!

Welcome to my zoo!

So, as you can see, life in my household is never dull. But I promise to get back to cooking and will have future posts coming soon.

Happy spring, everyone!

Leave a Reply

